Nintendo World Championships Set To Air On CBS This Month

If you missed the Nintendo World Championships that streamed ahead of E3 2019, then you’re in luck. CBS has partnered with television show ELeague to bring the championship series directly to your TV screen later this month.

The Nintendo World Championship series, which streamed on June 8, will air on Sunday, August 25 at 10 AM PT / 12 PM CST / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST. Two more episodes of the series will broadcast a couple weeks later on September 7 at 11 AM PT / 1 PM CST / 2 PM ET / 7 PM BST and September 14 at 10:30 AM PT / 12:30 PM CST / 1:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM BST.

This year’s Nintendo World Championships was comprised of three tentpole Nintendo Switch games: Splatoon 2, Super Mario Maker 2, and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. Each game consisted of set matches and rules where players compete to be crowned the champion. The full, nearly seven-hour livestream can be viewed on Nintendo’s official YouTube channel.

All three titles have received some fairly recent updates. Not long after Dragon Quest’s Hero DLC release, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate saw a new patch that significantly changed many of the game’s fighters. Super Mario Maker 2’s previous 32-level upload limit has been doubled, allowing you to share upwards of 64 levels online instead. Though Splatoon 2 won’t get anymore Splatfest’s for the foreseeable future, the game’s new update introduced a Splatfest option to private battles.

Bringing this year’s Nintendo World Championship series to TV isn’t the first partnership between CBS and ELeague. The two worked together on a three-part Super Smash. Bros Ultimate Invitational 2018 series, which aired in the same year.

Disclosure: CBS is the parent company of GameSpot.

Go to Source
Author: jeremy winslow