Shadow Of The Tomb Raider Release Date Apparently Leaked, Reveal Coming Soon

Shadow of the Tomb Raider’s release date appears to have been leaked. The official Tomb Raider website is currently displaying a countdown, presumably to a full reveal, but the site’s source code shows the game will launch for PS4, Xbox One, and PC on September 14, 2018.

“Shadow of the Tomb Raider is the climactic finale of Lara’s origin story,” the source code reads. “Available September 14, 2018.” Additionally, the code lists PS4, Xbox One, and PC as available platforms, which is interesting given the most recent game in the series, Rise of the Tomb Raider, launched on Xbox One before coming to other systems.

Elsewhere, the code mentions a “reveal date” of April 27. It’s possible the game will be officially announced on the date displayed on the website itself–March 15 at 6 AM PT / 9 AM ET / 1 PM GMT / 11 PM AEST–before a full gameplay reveal next month, though that remains to be seen.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider hasn’t yet been revealed, but Square Enix did say in December that a new game was on the way after rumors had surrounded the third game in the series for a while. “Driven by our goal of putting our fans first, we want you to know that it won’t be long between the official reveal and when you can play,” read the company’s statement. “Our journey will begin with a major event in 2018. We simply can’t wait to take you on Lara Croft’s defining adventure.”

It’s not yet clear who is developing the new game. In 2016, Crystal Dynamics–the team behind both Tomb Raider (2013) and Rise of the Tomb Raider–hired Visceral Games veteran Ian Milham to become a game director for the Tomb Raider franchise, reinforcing the suggestion that the studio was making a new Tomb Raider game. However, the company is also working on a new IP and a new Avengers project. Sources from Kotaku have previously claimed the new Tomb Raider game is being made by Thief and Deus Ex: Mankind Divided developer Eidos Montreal.

Finally, the new Tomb Raider movie is coming to theaters on March 16, starring Alicia Vikander and Dominic West. For more on that, check out our feature on everything you need to know about the Tomb Raider movie.

Go to Source
Author: Oscar Dayus

Powered by WPeMatico